PDA

View Full Version : throw out bearing

jeff.hunt
11-24-2009, 07:55 AM
does anyone know if the 1980 diesel scout ii has a throw out bearing that you can grease without taking apart the whole transmission? I was told they might have a sleeve you could get at through the bell housing (I'm not a mechanic and don't know much about engines, just repeating what I was told so may use wrong terms.)

Long story short, my clutch works fine, and the trucks low miles. it's just noisy because of bearing

baldscout
11-24-2009, 09:24 AM
If the last time the clutch was replaced had a greasable throwout put in, then yes, you have one. You will have to determine if it has one or not.

Climb under the truck, remove the inspection plate off the bottom of the bell housing and take a look with a flashlight. You'll see the grease nipple if it's got one that can be greased, otherwise, it's a non greasable. It is not recommended to attempt to make it a greasable while it is in the truck.

So if you are having noise issues with the throwout and its non-greasable, best to drop the trans and replace with one that is.

HTH

Bill

lindstromjd
11-25-2009, 08:01 PM
*ditto*

Pretty much hit it right on the head there.

jeff.hunt
01-06-2010, 09:59 AM
hi, i replaced the throw out bearing but didn't fix, what else could cause that noise when I press the clutch pedal?

baldscout
01-06-2010, 11:52 AM
While you had it out, did you check the bolt torque on the pressure plate? Is all of the linkages tight & in proper adjustment? Sounds like something may be loose in there.

If you are still getting noise and the bearing is not causing it (sounds like grinding / slop); then you may have a loose pressure plate, a pressure plate shipping block or other obstruction in the mechanism. Check the linkages & shine a light into the pressure plate to check to see if there's any items stuck in there.

This is the best I can come up with at this time. Hope it helps.

budget76
01-24-2010, 12:11 PM