PDA

View Full Version : New to diesels change of elbow? other questions

tmaxster
09-07-2009, 05:17 AM
I am new to scout diesels. A guy told me that i could change the elbow for airflow and pick up a little power.
Also the scout I bought was a new engine about 10 K miles ago if maintained do these run like a normal diesel I.E. a hundred thousand or better miles or do they come apart because they were not really built to run in a Scout? I guess the question is how reliable are they?
SO far it runs very well no smoke but just curious. ALso has anyone documented a bio diesel conversion on the SD 33 T?
Is there an archive of threads I can read?
Happy Labor Day!
BBQ and Adult beverages for everyone it has been a tough year....

lindstromjd
09-07-2009, 09:51 AM
The SD-33's will easily last 100k ++ on mileage if you take good care of them. And the vehicle they were originally designed to run in was a Nissan Patrol; very similar to the Scouts, and actually produced longer than Scouts were. You can find lots of parts for them in Australia. I can't say about how to get extra power from the engine just by changing the intake though; I went and upgraded my turbo and put an inter-cooler on mine.

tmaxster
09-07-2009, 11:29 AM
Thanks for the reply I will study up on diesels and see what I can do with it. It runs well. 70 is about max but around town it is getting very good mileage.

lindstromjd
09-07-2009, 04:17 PM
That's pretty normal. I don't get much more than 70 out of mine, either, and at "high" speeds like that, the engine's working pretty hard so I don't like to get any above it.